A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009



Quite a few managers of underage sides have mixed feelings about

parents attending matches but that is not the case with Denis

Budden: "Parents were a huge help to me this season, especially

in the provision of transport. They were always willing to help

whether the venue was near or far and saved the club a lot of


Denis was the manager of the Wilton United team that won the

championship in Division Two of the Hurley Supermarket AUL Under

17 leagues and one parent singled out for special mention was

Michael Breen who helped out on the line on matchday.

In 1989/90, Wilton reached the national final of both the Under

17 and Youths Cups but lost the two. The current side is being

geared up to go one better and of the current bunch only skipper

David Spratt is overage for next season.

Their next date is coming up in July when they travel to play in

the Portsmouth Cup where Wilton sides have enjoyed success in the

past. The Under 17s will be one of four Wilton teams making the


The Under 17 title represents something of a change of luck for

this bunch who have been together since their Under 8 days.

Between cups and leagues, they have been runners up six times.

The bad luck spread into school competitions; nine of the Wilton

lads helped Colaiste an Spioraid Naomh to the national schools

final this season but they lost to St Mary's of Galway in the


Noel McCabe, one of the people who put Roy Keane on the right

road, has been taking an interest in Budden's babes and already

one, Stuart Patterson, has been on trial at Liverpool. Ken

Bruton is due to visit Anfield once activities resume there next


Budden's panel consists of: Eamonn Breen, Adrian Desmond, Kevin

O'Riordan, Brian Burke, Neil Horgan, David Spratt (captain,

Stuart Patterson, Ken Bruton, Martin English, Greg Fitzgerald,

Patrick Englihs, Colin O'Brien, Conor Buckley, Myles Lennon,

Stephen Daly, Patrick Clancy, and Fergus O'Donovan.

No comments:

Post a Comment