A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Saturday, October 3, 2009



Promoted Mayfield United have got off to a great start in Murphy's Stout Premier A. So good in fact that joint manager Bernard O'Neill has had to re-think their targets for the season: "Our original aim at the beginning of the season was to avoid relegation as this was our first year in the premier division. But as things have gone well for us so far we would now like to think that we could be in the running for one of the promotion spots at the end of the season."

"So far in the league we have won 5 and drawn 3 and we were beaten in a

penalty shootout by Kinsale in the FAI Junior Cup. We are delighted with

this start in our first year in Premier A and we hope we can continue the

good form."

Mayfield won 1B last term but had a one big disappointment and would like to make up for it: "A run in one of the cups would also be nice as we felt we didn't do ourselves justice in Turner's Cross in the Corinthians Cup final last year and we would like to put that right."

Mayfield Utd is a very ambitious club and want to continue to improve

and build on the great work that has already been done. The committee would like to eventually get that promotion to the Premier division and have many of their schoolboy players come through and play at adult level with the club. All too often clubs lose players when they come out of schoolboys and Mayfield want to stop that.

All clubs need support and a big club like Mayfield need more than most. Gerry O'Connell of the Ashburton is the club's number one backer while Tadgh O'Neill of Waxys gives incredible support to the Premier A side.

Mayfield have retained the majority of last year's team and have signed a number of new players: Leonard O Regan (ex Leeside and Blarney Street),Robin Triggs (ex

Coachford and St Mary's), Paul Keegan and Damian Morey (from their MJL team) and Trevor O'Sullivan from the club's senior team.

Bernard and Lawrence Sexton continue to run the team but this year have been

joined by Donie Walsh who was with Blarney United last year. Donie is looking after the fitness side of things with the players and has been a huge success with the lads so far.

Leading scorer to date is Keith Hegarty followed by Mark Looney, Robin

Triggs and Ray Atkins. Captain is Declan Keane who took over from Mark Looney as the management "like to change around the captaincy to reward players we feel deserve it. Declan is a Garda and returned to playing with the club when he came back to Cork to work. Declan plays centre half and has been one of our most consistent performers over the last few years".

Player of the Year for last season was Ger Forde. Ger has stepped up to the senior team this year and has settled in well.

O'Neill reckons that their best victory to date was probably against Hillington whom they beat 3-0 in the league last month: "We have met Hillington a number of times over the last few years in cup competitions and could never beat them. So to eventually get one over on a very good side was a confidence booster for the

lads. Plus the Hillington manager John Gaffney is a friend and workmate of

mine so it was nice to be able to enjoy going to work after beating them."

The full panel consists of Eric Walsh, Simon O'Leary, Declan Keane, Leonard O'Regan, Paul Keegan, Robin Triggs, Mark Looney, Alan Costello, Trevor O'Sullivan, Brian Atkinson, Raymond Atkins, Noel O'Brien, Damian Morey, Mark Bolger, Ray O Mahony, Brian McSweeney, Paul Scannell.

They play their home games at their own Mayfield Utd Park (Lotamore) that has 4 pitches, dressing rooms and car park. A lot of money has been spent by

the club on drainage etc. for the pitches and they are hoping to see some return from that this year. The complex was used as a training headquarters by the Latvian team in the recent EUFA U19 tournament.

They train twice a week. On Tuesday nights between 7 and 8pm at Mayfield Community School all-weather pitch and on Thursday nights between 9 and 10pm in the gym at the Sunbeam complex.

Mayfield are very lucky to have a very large strong, dedicated and enthusiastic

committee. It consists of Chairman Pat Quirke, Vice Chairman Pat Saville, Secretary Sean Lane, Treasurer Joe Kennedy and committee members

Kieran McCarthy, Tony Carroll, Anthony Corcoran, Steven Murphy, P.J.

Brennan, Richard Keating, Bernard O'Neill, Lawrence Sexton, Kieran O'Leary, Ernest O'Mahony, Adrian Saville, Trevor O'Sullivan, Niall Farry, Tony

Harris, Noel Coughlan, Leon Craemer, Michael O'Donnell, John Drinan and Dave


No comments:

Post a Comment