A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Sunday, October 4, 2009



Rockmount, for the second season running, brought off a magnificent

cup and league double in AUL Youths Football. For all that, there was

a tinge of disappointment in the voice of manager Harry Peglar as he

reviewed the season: "We had a great run to the semi-final of the FAI

Youths Cup. But we missed three or four early chances in Dundalk".

That defeat by Rangers finished Rockmount's chances of a national

title but they recovered well to win the Murphy Cup and Barry's Tea

League 1. Two late goals gave them a 3 - 1 win over Mayfield Utd in

the cup final and a brilliantly taken score by leading marksman Kieran

O'Connor saw them finish 3 - 2 winners over main rivals Douglas Hall

in the final game of the league. Rockmount needed just a point to

take the pennant while the Hall needed both.

O'Connor collected 27 goals for the season and the other leading

sharpshooters were Ken Dennehy (24), centre-half Denis McAuliffe (23),

Damien Long (17) and John Hurley (17). In the 35 games played,

Rockmount scored 143 and conceded 25.

Harry has been manager for the past four seasons. His assistant on

the line is John Delea and another man who contributes hugely in this

area is Pat Magic O'Callaghan.

Rockmount panel: Noel Cantwell, Ian O'Connor, Denis McAuliffe,

Philip Hogan (captain), John Busteed, Conor O'Driscoll, John

Hurley, Stephen Long, Kieran O'Shea, Kieran O'Connor, Conor

Twomey, Ken Dennehy, Damien Long, and Keith O'Connell.

Hurley, O'Shea, and O'Driscoll, are schoolboy internationals, while

Cantwell, Hogan, McAuliffe, Busteed, Hurley, O'Driscoll, and Kieran

O'Connor, played for the AUL in this season's inter-league


The Under 17s came close to making it another double. Under joint

managers Aidan O'Mahony and Eddie Henchion, they won their Hurley's

Supermarkets League One but were pipped by Mayfield United in the

final of the Imperial Hotel League cup.

The Under 17 panel was: Stephen O'Donoghue, Brian Quirke, Ken

Cullinane, Conor O'Driscoll, Colin Deveraux (captain), Pakie O'Connor,

Stephen Hegarty, Shane Power, Brian Lenihan, Kieran O'Shea, Keith

O'Connell, Paul Morey, Ger Freeman, Troy Dwyer, John Burns, and Benny


O'Shea, one the leading scorers here, also played at Youths and Under

16 level where he was part of double winning sides. Only that defeat

by Mayfield robbed him of a most unusual triple double.

end of story

No comments:

Post a Comment