A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009


These Whitethorn boys weren't so green after all: three months into their

first ever season, the rookies from the Douglas Road picked up the Murphy's

Stout AUL team of the Month Award for November. That was presented last week

at the Lion's Den, home of their top supporter Bill Flanagan.

The Whitethorn handle comes from the fact the "eighty per cent" of the squad

live in the estate of that name. They were founded in 1992 and, after a

series of friendlies, decided to enter the AUL this season. They didn't get

off to the best of starts in League 3A but are now impressing in all


Chairman, and top scorer, is Neil O'Donovan. Eddie Thornhill is secretary,

Tony Creagh is treasurer, and the other committee members are Finbarr Hogan,

Charlie Thornhill, Aidan O'Neill, and Darren Kearney.

All the committee men are available to manager Christy O'Donovan and the rest

of the panel is: Stephen Murphy, Denis O'Donovan, Tom O'Brien, Patsy Lyons,

the Meehan brothers (Paudie, Liam, and Christy), Don O'Neill (the most

experienced player in what is a quite a young side), Abdul Kamara, Peter

Coughlan, James Martin, John Drennan, Denis Kenneally, Liam O'Neill, and John

O'Mahony (captain).

No comments:

Post a Comment