A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Friday, October 2, 2009


Lee Rangers haven't won any cups or leagues in their 36 years in the AUL but they did have something of a breakthrough last season when they finished runners up in 3B.

Their sportsmanship and staying power -they have never given a walkover - was recognized by the management committee at the Annual Awards function in the Kiln where president Tony McGeough was the recipient of a special presentation.

"Now that we're up, there's no way we're going back down", declared a happy McGeough. He, secretary Arthur Walker, and Chairman Colm O'Driscoll, are looking to build on last season's performance. They went through the league unbeaten, winning 16 of their 24 games. Alan Murray was skipper and he leads the Rangers again this season.

Dessie Murray will once again act as player-manager though he skipped the opening game against Corkbeg as he couldn't miss the christening of his first child. Liam Power is the assistant and he took charge of the squad which is much the same as last season with the addition of two handy signings in Kieran Horgan and Michael O'Leary.

McGeough's one regret was that founder member and long time inspiration behind the club Brendan Connolly wasn't around to enjoy last term: "though we still think he was there from time. You know, there some shots going wide that ended up in the net!"

Tony is also treasurer and was Clubman of the Year last season. Player of the Year went to ace scorer Pat O'Donovan. Pat knocks in about twenty every season and he'll be hoping to do the business again next Saturday when Rangers take on Hill Celtic B in the opening round of the AOH Cup.

No comments:

Post a Comment