A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Friday, October 2, 2009


Leeside AFC

Leeside, the proud owners of an excellent playing pitch with top class ancillary facilities - which have just been upgraded to include a large floodlit training area - just can't rest on their laurels.

Club secretary Denis Cambridge explains: "The club is expanding at such a rate that we are outgrowing our present facility. We hope to be in a position shortly to announce new plans for another major development".

The clubs' two junior sides are going great guns and lead their respective divisions. They also field teams in the AUL Youth and U17 divisions and intend to expand the schoolboys section next season. Cambridge has a big thank you for those behind the club: "We get great support from the local community and industries and we have a terrific relationship with Harbour Point, our main sponsors".

"We now have so many recruits to schoolboys that we have had to establish a separate committee to look after them", said Cambridge. "They are led by Martin O'Neill, Gerry Ring, John Hayes, Kieran Hayes, Michael McCarthy, and Denis Hayes, and they are actively preparing teams for the schoolboy leagues next term."

The committee have arranged a fundraiser in Ashbourne Hotel this Friday evening and the aim is to raise enough to take a team to the Bobby Charlton School of Excellence in Old Trafford. Cambridge confirmed that Lee Martin, scorer of the winning goal in the 1990 FA Cup final, will attend and all are welcome.

There were some worries down Little Island way when a new manager had to be appointed this season for the Premier side. In came John Shine and the success continued. He has made clever use of youth and B players and they currently stand proudly at the top of the Murphy's Stout AUL Premier League and are looking forward to their quarter-final in the AOH against Greenmount.

Ger Delea has recently taken over the B side and they head the rankings in AUL 1B. They have won 12 games in a row and will be going all out to make an impact in the County Cup.

Kieran Horgan and John Gettings look after the youths side while Jimmy Barry O'Sullivan is in charge of the U17s. Clubman of the Year Willie Cogan looks after the U13s.

The Premier panel consists of: Gerry Holland (captain), Kieran Mullins, Pat Collins, Tony Neiland, Wayne Barrett, Mick Coughlan, Frank Horgan, Mick Mooney, Frank Walsh, John Corcoran, Steven Walsh, Jeremy O'Sullivan, David Welch, Conor O'Leary, and Barry Lamb. Welch is the current leader of the Murphy's Stout Golden Boot chart and has, along with O'Leary and Frank Walsh, represented Leeside on this year's AUL Oscar Traynor team.

Leeside were founded in 1968 and honours to date include: President's Cup (1985), League 2(86), AUL 1B and County Cup double (1991), County Cup (1994), Youths 2A (1995), AUL 1B and County Cup double (1997), Premier A, Second Division Youths League and Cup double (1998).

1 comment: