A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009


Player power is the name of the game at the successful Village Utd club who

this season added the title in Murphy's Stout 2A to that won in 3A last term.

True, chairman John "Duffy" Feighery is a little past his playing days but

players man all the other positions on the committee. Keeper Paul "Taffy"

Lockyer is secretary; treasurer duties are shared by Rory O'Connor, Alan

O'Brien, and Alan mcGrath. Vince Long and Adrian Saville are committee

members while manager Martin O'Riordan is also capable of doing duty as a


O'Riordan didn't have much opportunity to tog out this season as his charges

went through the league campaign unbeaten, clinching the title on the last day

by beating top rivals Castle Celtic.

Besides, they had some great cup runs though all came to nought in the end.

They reached the quarter finals of the AOH (beating Buttevant's Premier side

on the way) and the City Challenge and the semi-final of the Saxone. The

highlight of their Corinthians run was the defeat of Casement Celtic, another

Premier outfit.

Eddie O'Driscoll, with 22, was the top marksman for this young Mayfield club

who are very thankful to the loc oal Harrier Club for the use of their

premises. Other leading scorers were Adrian Saville (15), Rory O'Connor

(13), Jonathan "Jinty" O'Sullivan (12), and Greg Martin (11).

Village, with 61 goals for and 23 against, had the best attack and the best

defence in the league, quite a competitive one. The squad was much the same as

last season, notable additions being Vincent Long, Tony Neiland, and Aidan

Keohane. Saville was vice-captain and Jason Power led the team (as he did

last season).

The full panel was: Paul Lockyer, Kevin Geraghty, Vinny Long, Jason Power,

Dave Butler, Aidan Keohane, Adrian Saville, Alan O'Brien, Tony Neiland, Greg

Martin, Rory O'Connor, Donal Kenneally, Eddie O'Driscoll, Jinty O'Sullivan,

Deccie McCarthy, Martin O'Mahony, Alan McGrath, Anthony Crowley, Kevin Keegan,

and Stephen Egan.

No comments:

Post a Comment