A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009


Whitethorn 9/2/95:

Whitethorn are just a couple of years on the go but are already looking to the

future. The lively southside club intends to enter an Under 12 side in the

Cork Schoolboys League next season.

Brother Cusack of Sullivan's Quay is helping them in organising the young

lads. He has already been a big help to the juniors who train weekly at

Sullivan's Quay's well equipped gym.

Whitethorn, founded by Eddie Thornhill and Neil O'Donovan, started off in

1992/93 and, according to current manager Christy O'Donovan, "played a load of

friendlies". They entered the AUL for the 1993/94 season and immediately made

an impact.

Three months into their first ever season, the then rookies picked up the

Murphy's Stout AUL Team of the Month Award for November. Their victories that

month had included a stunning AOH Cup win over first division Castleview. They

went on to finish third in their league and that gave them promotion to 2A.

Whitethorn are finding the going tough enough at the higher level but the

manager hopes to consolidate their mid table position. He is also hopeful of

causing an upset or two in the cups.

The Whitethorn name comes from the fact that most of the squad live in the

estate of that name off the Douglas Road or are related to people living

there. There is one northsider "allowed" and he is Michael O'Sullivan.

Manager O'Donovan confesses that he doesn't know whether Camerooni Abdul

Kamara is northside or southside.

The current committee are Neil O'Donovan (Chairman), Eddie Thornhill

(Secretary), Tony Creagh (Treasurer), Denis Kenneally, and Mick Byrne (Clubman

of the Year), Mick is also the team's first aid man. Michael Keating is

their President.

The current squad consists of: Patsy Lyons, Mark Kelleher, Eddie Thornhill,

Don O'Neill (the ex Grattan Utd performer), John O'Mahony (captain and Player

of the Year), Tomas O'Brien, Liam Meehan, Michael O'Sullivan, Barry O'Brien,

Neil O'Donovan, Ger Barriscale, Derek Walsh, Peter Coughlan, Denis O'Donovan,

Abdul Kamara, and Christy Meehan.

No comments:

Post a Comment