A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Sunday, October 4, 2009


Rockville have made a cracking start to the season and fully deserved their

September Team of the Month Award. They won six and drew one of their first

seven games. The victories included two over senior opposition and earned

them a place in the semi-final of the Shield where they lost to holders

Temple, their first and, so far, only setback.

Because the Premier Division outfit are busy on all fronts, including making

progress in the Munster and FAI Cups, they have played just one league game to

date which explains why ace marksman Mick McAuliffe, winner of the Murphy's

Stout Golden Boot two years ago, has yet to figure at the head of this term's

chart. But he has made his mark by scoring the goal in that league win over


McAuliffe's brother Denis also features regularly in the team as do two other

sets of brothers, the Sheehans ( Brendan and Liam) and the Cassidys (Eamonn

and Dan). Mick McAuliffe, John Long, and Frankie Shaw, are currently training

with the AUL Oscar Traynor Cup panel.

Keeper Derek Clarke captains the side. The other members of the panel are:

veteran Ger Cronin, Martin Cambridge, Connor Foley, Declan Sheehan, Aidan

Kearney (a brother of Kevin, the Temple goalsmith), Derek Long, Donal Murphy,

Kieran Warren, and Paul Murray.

Most of the players have been together since their schoolboy playing days with

Rockmount, the club from which they parted during the close season. The

manager is Greg Duggan and his assistant is John Hill. Timmy Murphy takes

charge of the training which is held Mondays and Thursday at the Mayfield

Community School and their home pitch is at the Lakewood Complex in Ovens.

Club chairman is Denis O'Donovan, Duggan is treasurer and Hill secretary.

Other committee members are John Cronin, Jimmy Burns, and Aidan Kearney.

No comments:

Post a Comment