A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Saturday, October 3, 2009

MFA 1993



John O'Sullivan (Cork AUL) was re-elected chairman of the Munster Football

Association when the provincial governing body held its annual general meeting

in Moore's Hotel last Saturday afternoon. John O'Regan (Kerry) was returned

as vice-chairman.

The Council itself later set up a new committee, a cup committee, to look

after the organisation of the senior, junior, and youths, cups. The men

elected to serve here were Liam Lewis (AUL), John O'Donovan (MSL), Mick

Hanley (Desmond), Tony Fitzgerald (AUL), Vincent Cummins (AUL) and Tommy Lewis


The MFA delegates to the FAI Senior Council - John O'Sullivan, Vincent

Cummins, and Donie Forde - were returned unopposed. There was an election for

the junior council where all four outgoing were returned and they are: Tommy

Lewis, John Sheehan (Waterford), Mick Hanley, and Sean Kiely (Limerick).

There was a change of personnel in the Protests and Appeals committee where

Ger Delaney (MSL) came in in place of Pasty McCullough. Delaney was the

agreed replacement for John O'Donovan on the disciplinary committee. The new

Rules Revision Committee is: Kiely, T. Lewis, T, Fitzgerald, V. Cummins, and

Jimmy Murphy (MSL).


In his address to the annual general meeting, MFA chairman John O'Sullivan

welcomed the delegates and extended a special welcome to their guests who were

Joe Delaney, vice President of the FAI Senior Council and assistant treasurer,

and John Fitzgerald who was representing the FAI Junior Council.

O'Sullivan said that the association had had its ups and downs but that in

general it had been a good year for football in the province: "Cork City won

the Premier Division of the League of Ireland, Cobh Ramblers were promoted to

the Premier, Waterford District League won the national youth inter-league

championship, and the Limerick District League were successful in the Oscar


But O'Sullivan voiced a warning as regards discipline, saying he found it sad

and disturbing that players, especially youths players, seemed to be getting

out of hand. He appealed to administrators and club officials, especially

those looking after teams, to take a stand and deal firmly with the matter.

Joe Delaney also addressed the meeting and thanked the association for their

usual warm Cork welcome. He had a special word of praise for Tony Fitzgerald

who had give the national association first class service in the staging of

big matches in Turner's Cross and is now on the steering committee for the

1994 European Under 16 Championships which will be held in Ireland.

Turner's Cross is one of the venues for this finals tournament and Delaney

expressed happiness with the rate of progress at the venue and promised that

the FAI would look at the possibility of further funding to ensure that

everything was in order for 1994.

But he also delivered what he termed as a warning shot to clubs expecting

grants next season. He said that it was his personal view that the recent

grant distribution, which totalled œ500,000, would be the last of its kind for

some time to come. Indeed, he forecast that it would be 1995 before clubs

could expect development grants again.

John Fitzgerald then spoke with a great pride about the achievements of the

provincial teams this season saying there was great credit due to the Limerick

and Waterford Leagues on winning their championships. He congratulated

Buttevant on their great run in the FAI junior Cup and said it proved that

Munster teams were no longer a soft touch.

Most speakers from the top table echoed this pride and other clubs

congratulated during the afternoon included the youths of Rockmount and

Shannon Town and the intermediates of Temple United.

No comments:

Post a Comment