A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009



Village Utd, the young Mayfield based club, have had a remarkable

rise to the top division of the AUL Junior Leagues.

They joined the league for the 1991/2 season and won 3A. The

following season they topped 2A and kept the sequence going in

1993/4 when they emerged as winners of 1A, winning the January

Team of the Month Award on the way. And at present, they are one

of the joint leaders in the Murphy's Stout Premier League.

They did have some good cup runs, including reaching last

season's AOH quarter-finals, but knockout success eluded them

until the end of last season when they beat Temple United in the

exciting final of the City Challenge Cup at Turner's Cross.

That was a top notch performance. They were somewhat more

nervous on their other visit to the Cross for the One A

championship play-off against Grattan Utd. But all came well in

the end and they took the big step to the Premier.

Last season was the first time that they entered the provincial

cup. They are quick learners and, this season, are through to

the last 32, the open draw, and a home game against Tramore FC of

Waterford, a game which manager Martin O'Riordan and company are

eagerly awaiting.

O'Riordan has been the manager since day one. He has no great

tradition in soccer, no coaching certificates to his credit. But

he obviously has a winning formula.

Perhaps the best known character in the extended Village family

is chairman John Feighery, known to one and all as Duffy. Duffy

was the driving force behind the foundation of the club and

remains an influential figure. He leaves his chairman's hat

behind on matchdays when he can be seen in action as the team's

medic, complete with tracksuit and baseball cap.

Club secretary is Adrian Saville and the joint treasurers are

Alan O'Brien and Alan McGrath. The other members of the

committee are Martin Cashman (he captained Leeds in an AOH semi-

final), Tony O'Sullivan, Denis Long (the assistant manager), and

Kevin O'Sullivan.

Saville was voted clubman of the year for last season and other

annual awards went to Vincent Long (Player of the Year) and Rory

O'Connor (Top Scorer).

The progress of the club was recognised this season when Jinty

O'Sullivan was picked by AUL manager Martin Heffernan for the

Oscar Traynor Cup panel. O'Sullivan played in the wins over the

Shipping league and South Tipperary and his club wish him all the

best for the campaign ahead.

The Mayfield Community East have been a big help to Village,

allowing them the use of the pitch at Silverheights. Dressing

facilities are provided courtesy of the local harrier club. The

Rockmount club are helping Village stage their Munster cup game

in Whitechurch and Rockmount's help in this regard is much


O'Riordan's captain is Jason Power and the other members of the

panel are: Mark Hutchinson (keeper), Kevin Geraghty, new

signings Mick Healy and brother Christy (both ex ballyvolane),

Aidan Keohane, Adrian Saville, Rory O'Connor, Eddie Roche, Eddie

O'Driscoll, Darren O'Callaghan, Vincie Long, Alan O'Brien,

Anthony Noone, Jinty O'Sullivan, Alan McGrath, Deccie McCarthy,

and Leslie Kepple.

No comments:

Post a Comment