A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Sunday, October 4, 2009



Passage are on the way back. That seems to be the message from the progressive harbourside club that have three teams in contention for three different AUL Leagues at present. The Premier outfit are doing well in cup and league, Passage B are one of the top teams in 2B and the youths are looking good in AUL 1.

Besides, the club formed a separate schoolboy administration this season and that section is going from strength to strength. And that's not all. Passage also run two ladies teams, one senior, the other underage, and here the management is shared by Tina Murphy, James Jordan and Dave Barry.

Chairman John Murphy, who with Paddy Carroll runs the Premier side, is taking lessons from the David O'Leary hand-book and is not getting carried away: "We hope to get a top four finish in the league and get a good cup run. Remember this is a very young side, ten of the squad are twenty three or younger."

There had been a lack of commitment from some Passage players in very recent seasons and Murphy has moved to rectify that: "Our plan for the season is to get a settled group of players who are interested in giving a full commitment and that is what we are getting so far."

The squad has been boosted by the return of Paul Coughlan from Cobh Ramblers and promising youngster James O'Leary, who played with the AUL youths last term, is back from Douglas Hall. The squad has also been reinforced by the arrival of two Ukrainians, Taras Bobko and Oleg Shanrauyk. Team trainer is William "Touche" Murphy and John Gaffney is the skipper.

Coughlan played upfront in the recent AOH win over holders Leeside but the regular duo here is Aidan Whitty and Johnny Carroll. Unfortunately top scorer Carroll looks set to miss the next few weeks as he recovers from a hernia operation.

But chairman Murphy is hopeful that the club as a whole has turned the corner and is delighted with the progress being reported on all fronts. The B team, looking good in 2B, are guided by James Jordan and Brendan "Bags" Murphy while Packie Murphy is in charge of the youths squad. "The club is on a very firm footing and plans are well ahead to celebrate our 30th year in football next season".

The Premier panel consists of Brian Beale, Mervyn O'Connor, Gordon Ryan, Paul Cronin, Gavin O'Connor, Paul Coughlan, John Gaffney, Clifton Gaffney, James O'Leary, Jason Mullen, Liam Curtin, Dave Barry, Mark O'Donnell, John Carroll, Aidan Whitty, Taras Bobko and Oleg Shanrauyk.

No comments:

Post a Comment