A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Friday, October 2, 2009



Mallow Celtic scored a magnificent triumph over Ballincollig in the final of

the Second Division Youths Cup and the young north Cork club, formed in May

1987, are naturally thrilled, delighted to have the services of their title

winning minors available for the two junior teams next season.

In their first season as juniors, Mallow celtic reached the final of the North

Cork Cup but lost. Success came in 88/89 when they won the title in AUL 3A.

In 90/91, they were promoted as runners up from 2A and now play in the first

division while the second team play in the third.

This is the third season that the club has fielded a youth side and the first

that success has come their way at this level. Much of the credit must go to

hard working manager Timmy Kelly whose commitment was second to none. He

received major help from brother Paul, the team's first aid man.

Timmy picked from the following: Terry O'Brien (keeper), Noel O'Riordan

(captain), John Buckley, Declan Harold, Dominic Connolly, Dessie Curran, Ronan

Boylan, Niall Ducey, Edmund O'Connor, Mark Scanlon, Jason Scuffles, Willie

McDonnell, Denis Scuffles, Liam O'Brien, and Raymond Buckley.

The Kellys were backed up by a hard working committee whose officers are:

Aidan Lehane, chairman; Mick Burke, vice-chairman; Eithne O'Keeffe,

secretary; Noelle O'Keeffe, assistant secretary; Chris Egan and Kieran

Gyves, joint treasurers; and Sam Costello, PRO.

Other committee members are: Michael Whelan, Catriona O'Leary, Noel O'Regan,

Tom Costello, Timmy Kelly, Kevin Egan, Anthony O'Callaghan, Pierse Whelan, and

Coleman Sheehan.

No comments:

Post a Comment