A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009



Former senior international Miah Dennehy is leading Village Utd out of the doldrums. Miah, as player-manager, has the Mayfield side back at the head of affairs in Murphy's Stout AUL 1B. They are not among the title favourites but are going in the right direction.

Village joined the AUL for the 1991/2 season and won 3A. The following season they topped 2A and kept the sequence going in 1993/4 when they emerged as winners of 1A.

Perhaps the best known character in the extended Village family is chairman John Feighery, known to one and all as Duffy. Duffy was a driving force at the foundation and remains an influential figure; he is their groundsman at Silverheights where dressing facilities are now installed. The other committee members are Kevin O'Sullivans (secretary), Denis Long (treasurer), Dinny Murray (assistant treasurer), Alan McGrath, and Marie Long.

Miah is combing the area for young talent and is also keeping an eye on the Village Utd B side that play in 3B. Manager here is Dinny Murray and his young charges are close to the bottom but showed their potential as recently as last weekend when they handed out a 4 - 1 lesson to title chasers Cobh Celtic.

The Village club has always had plenty of support from the area. The Community Association have helped out with the pitches, the local Harrier Club with dressing facilities, the Fob and Gill and George Butler with sponsorship.

Football wasn't always the priority for Village in recent seasons. Secretary O'Sullivan explains: "Sadly, two of our players passed away in the last few years, John O'Brien and Richard Kelleher. We would like to thank them and their families for what they have done for Village Utd."

Aside from topping the league, Village are going well in the Corinthians Cup and are also looking for a run in the City Cup. The panel is: Paul Attridge, Jason Power (captain), Brian Sheridan, Dominic Casey, Kevin Geraghty, Alan O'Brien, Alan McGrath, Kevin O'Sullivan, Brian Hegarty, Noel Magnier, Dean Coughlan, Conor Jones (leading scorer), Sean Barry, Trevor Cambridge, Nicky and Miah Dennehy.

No comments:

Post a Comment