A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Sunday, October 4, 2009


Pearse Celtic (March 1996):

Pearse Celtic, the Murphy's Stout AUL Team of the Month for February, are

thoroughly enjoying their first season in official league football. Largely

because their preparation has been thorough.

Chairman Danny Carroll explained at last week's Team of the Month presentation

by Ricky Grogan of Murphy's Stout, that the club, new to the AUL, has been

organised for the past three seasons: "It was originally formed by a group of

Togher youngsters. The local community, especially Mick Healy, were very

helpful, both with advice and finance".

Danny was the first manager and still holds the job. Having, at the start of

this season, achieved their aim of joining the AUL, Pearse recruited a few

experienced players to help in the league debut. And it has been a successful

debut. Celtic are one of the leading sides in AUL 3 and have been making

waves in the City Challenge Cup.

The full panel is: Shane Barrett, Darren Buckley, Johnny Collins, Pat

Buckley, Paddy Cremin, Dave Dorgan, Andy and Emmett Geary, Finbarr Hayes,

Barry Kelleher, Paul McCarthy, Kieran Morey (captain), Ray Ryan (keeper),

Anthony Morley, Jason Virgo, Mark Nasion, Maz O'Donovan, Richard O'Shea, Tony

O'Sullivan, and Damien Walsh.

The club play their home games at Clashduv Road where they get tremendous help

from groundsman Charlie Horgan. The Pearse officers are Daniel Carroll

(Chairman), Maz O'Donovan (Vice chairman), Tony O'Sullivan (Treasurer), Kieran

Morey (Secretary), and Michael Holland (assistant secretary).

No comments:

Post a Comment