A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, October 5, 2009


Waterloo Mar 1995:

Waterloo, founded in the summer of 1977 at a meeting in the

Waterloo Inn, is very much a family club.

They have three schoolboys sides where the organising and

coaching work is shared by Mr and Mrs Terence McCarthy, Mr and

Mrs John O'Brien, Mr and Mrs Donal O'Leary, and Mr and Mrs Martin

O'Connell. Mary McCarthy is another trojan worker at underage


The Cronins, the Mullanes, the Moynihans, the Hegartys, are other

families closely associated with the club. And the trend is

reinforced with no less than five sets of brothers on the "B"


Waterloo AFC are just short of twenty years in the Cork AUL and

are looking good for at least another twenty. This progressive

rural club, which draws its players from the Grenagh, Blarney,

and Whitechurch area, has great hopes for the future mainly

because of work being done at underage level where the club

colours are worn at Under 11, 12, and 13. Much of the development

at this level would not be possible without the help of O'Connell

Plant Hire.

The first junior team is not enjoying the best of luck this

season, a far cry from the heady days of 1985/86 when they took

the title in One B and doubled up by triumphing in the County

Cup. The following year, they finished runners up to Temple Utd

in the Premier League.

Martin Cronin was manager for the good years, His son Garrett is

now playing with Cork City. Their next tantalizing taste of glory

came in 1992/93 when they were runners up in the first division.

They now play in One A. Terence McCarthy is the manager and his

assistant is Danny Cronin, an uncle of the Cork City player.

Danny is also the club secretary. He has been with the club

since the early days as has the evergreen Pat Mullane. Tommy

Hegarty is chairman; John O'Halloran is treasurer and Andy

Macken the assistant treasurer. Pat Mullane, Terence McCarthy,

Andy Macken, and Pat Moynihan, are committee members.

The first team squad consists of Trevor Keating, Jim O'Shea,

Denny Hegarty, Pat Mullane, Alan Murphy, Robert Linzell

(captain), Patrick Murphy, Dermot Hickey, Tom Bevan, Joe Murphy,

Johnny O'Halloran, Donal McCarthy, Eamonn Aherne, and Denis


The second team are strong contenders for the championship in

Murphy's Stout AUL 3A. Manager here is Pat Moynihan and his

right hand men are Andy Macken, Patrick O'Riordan, and Brendan

Twohig. Macken is also the team skipper.

The five sets of brothers on the "B" panel are: the Dohertys

(Ger and Pat), Moynihans (Con and Jeremiah), O'Riordans (Dan and

Patrick), Colemans (Seamus and Ciarain), and Dorgans (Aidan and


The rest of the panel is: Brendan Walsh, Aidan Forrest, Pat

Brennan, Padraig McDonnell, John Halbert, Sean Murphy, Michael

Twohig, Ger Lotty, Stephen Horgan, Robert Lee, and Macken



1983/84 - runners up first division;

1984/85 - runners up first division;

1985/86 - winners League 1B and County Cup;

1986/87 - runners up Premier League;

1992/93 - runners League 1A.

No comments:

Post a Comment