A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Saturday, October 3, 2009



Everton will be contesting their sixth Murphy Youth Cup final in seven years when they take on Douglas Hall at the Cross on Sunday morning (kick off 10.45). Both sides have distinguished themselves this season: Everton had a good run in the FAI Cup while Douglas, also through to the last four of the League Cup, are unbeaten since last October.

Holders Everton beat Mayfield in the 1994 decider and lost to Ballincollig in the following season. In 97 they lost to Leeds, in 98 to Ballincollig, before beating Temple last term. Douglas may not be able to match Everton's record in the Murphy but they did win the Second Division Youths Cup last season.

Douglas secretary Con Harrington is delighted with the fifteen game unbeaten run: "The bulk of this team have won trophies from Under 8 up. Billy O'Neill, Gerard O'Donovan, and Derek Bowen, have represented the AUL this season and six of the panel have senior experience".

Everton, managed by Paul Desmond, Paul Scannell, and Noel O'Sullivan, have also won their share of representative honours. Terry White is perhaps the best known, having played this season for the Irish Senior Schools team and the MFA Under 17 side. Desmond is new to the management team this season and is a major contributor, especially with training.

Douglas Hall squad: Colm McCarthy, David Cotter, Billy O'Neill, Joe McSorley (captain), Barry O'Shea, Rodger Barrett, Eoin O'Brien, Brian Wilkinson, Damien O'Callaghan, James O'Leary, Paul Rose, Cathal Hipwell, Derek Bowen, and Gerard O'Donovan.

Everton panel: Stephen O'Sullivan, Paddy Fielding, Lawrence Fitzpatrick, Philip Hayes, Gavin O'Leary (captain), John Desmond, Martin Horgan, Terry White, Richard Barry, Stephen Duncliffe, Michael Ahern, Paul McGrath, Roger Moore, Stephen Houlihan, Gary Murphy, Alan Harte, and Stephen Crowley.

Damien O'Mahony is the referee for Sunday's decider and his assistants are John Thompson and Barry Kelleher.

RECENT WINNERS: St Mary's (1983); Crofton Celtic (84); Casement Celtic (85 & 86); Rockmount (87); Casement Celtic (88); Rockmount (89); Casement Celtic (90); Wilton Utd (91); Rockmount (92 & 93); Everton (94); Ballincollig (95); Midleton (96); Leeds (97); Blarney Utd (98); and Everton (99).


Each of Sunday's contestants received a bye in the opening round and Douglas had a bloodless victory over Richmond in round two. Everton also had it easy when goals from Stephen Houlihan (2), Gavin O'Leary (2), Laurence Fitzpatrick, and Paul McGrath, gave them a 6 - 0 win over Hibernians.

In December, the Hall came up against cup favorites Temple Utd and Gerard O'Donovan netted a hat trick in a stirring 3 - 1 win. Douglas recently repeated the dose in the league cup to prove that they are a quality outfit.

Everton had it surprisingly tough against lower ranked Dripsey Celtic in the 3rd round though it must be said that Stephen Forde's Mid Cork side have improved throughout the season.

The first game ended at 3 - 3, Stephen Duncliffe, Richard Barry, and John Desmond, on the mark for Everton. The city team fell behind in the replay; White equalised and Richard Barry snatched the winner after his own header came back off the bar.

Douglas Hall were up against Ballincollig in their January semi-final and O'Donovan got the only goal of the game to put them through. O'Donovan also scored with a diving header against Temple in the League Cup so he seems to be the man for the big occasion and is he only Hall player to have scored in the Murphy this season.

Everton had a comfortable enough 4 - 1 win over Leeside in their semi-final. White notched a double while Houlihan and Michael Ahern also scored.

No comments:

Post a Comment