A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Wednesday, September 30, 2009


Harp United

Harp United are not going to win the title in 2A but the season is already a success, according to club secretary Sean Madden.

Relegated on the last day of the previous season, Harp looked all set for the plunge during the first half of this term. Madden recalls: "At the start of the season, our new dressing rooms were vandalized; we were short on numbers and won just one of our opening ten games and were relegation favourites".

Manager Finbarr O'Connor is credited with turning the tide. New signings were made and that plus tactical changes saw Harp go on a run that saw them lose just once in eleven outings and dramatically improve their league position.

That run was sparked by a 4 - 1 victory over Glenthorn, described as the best win of the season by Madden and they rose from second last to third from top in the table as they took points off leading sides Rathcoole and Donoughmore. The goal scoring form of Mark Erangie (9), skipper Mark Depuis (8), and Niall Farrell (5), helped enormously.

"Our ambition now is to finish as high as we can", says Madden, a feisty defender. "If we can get a good start next season, we'll be hoping to get back to the first division. Our home pitch is in Monard and we hope to have the dressing rooms completely refurbished for the start of the season."

"This season, though it started so badly, could yet be a stepping stone to success and for that I would like to thank the members of the committee, especially Pierce Clinton and John Hull, and the players of course. Also a big thank you to the Harp Bar."

The full committee is: Pierce Clinton (chairman), newly wed Neil Dorney (treasurer), Sean Madden (secretary), Finbarr O'Connor (manager), Neilus Harrington, Mark Depuis, Noel Sugrue, and John Hull.

The squad, which trains twice a week, consists of Ian Coughlan, Colm Fitzgerald, Neilus Harrington, Paul McCarthy, Ian Salter, Dermot Crowley, Sean Madden, Niall Farrell, Neil Dorney, Colm Dorney, Paul Kent, Brian O'Sullivan, John O'Sullivan, Mark Depuis (current player of the year), Niall Tobin, Mark Erangie, Philip Moore, James Collins, and Willie Falvey.

No comments:

Post a Comment