A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Wednesday, September 30, 2009


Grattan Utd 8/12/94

Grattan United, founded in 1926, are one of the oldest clubs in Cork soccer

but the emphasis is very much on youth at present.

The committee has received a reviving injection of new blood in recent years;

their youthful team won promotion to the AUL Premier Division at the end of

last season and there is a strong ambition to field an Under 17 team next


The club's pride in its long tradition was underlined at a recent reception in

Pat O'Sullivan's when chairman Joe Lynch, for so their distinguished

goalkeeper, announced that they were returning to their original colours and

crest. Top supporters, Mick and Frances Byrne, presented two sets of gear,

one for home use, the other for away games. The new home strip features the

original blue and white vertical stripes.

About three years ago, the club was on a downward slide but Lynch and company

put new life into the committee. Last season was one of their best and

included a Murphy's Stout Tema of the Month Award.

They were regular visitors to Turner's Cross. They surprised Ballincollig in

the AOH semi-final but lost the final to Passage. They also lost the One A

League play-off to Village Utd. In a hectic end of season campaign, they also

reached the St Michael's semi-final but went out at the ESB Grounds.

However, the team's improvement was recognised when the AUL management

committee promoted them to the newly formed Premier "A". While they are in

with some much more experienced teams, they are more than holding their own.

Longest serving member Dinny "Pop" O'Neill is Grattan's life President. Joe

Lynch is chairman and the other officers are George Murphy (vice chairman),

Paul Lynch (secretary), and Tony Hyde, another long serving member with 28

years to his credit, is treasurer. Pat Caulfield, Martin Doocey, and Frank

Geaney, also serve on the committee.

Noel Harris is the Grattan skipper and the rest of the panel is: Paul Cleary

(goalkeeper), Paul Lynch, Martin Doocey, Robert O'Callaghan, Terry Murphy,

Jason Kerins, Pat Caulfield, John Caulfield, Paul O'Reilly, Eddie O'Riordan,

Mick Murphy, Jim Walsh, Frank Geaney, Joe Galway, Paul Sloan, and Michael

Greene. Joe Lynch is the team manager and his assistant is George Murphy.

No comments:

Post a Comment