A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Tuesday, September 29, 2009



Bunny Horgan, centre-half on a very talented Evergreen minor team

in the late forties, was on hand recently to see the current

committee announce a return to their traditional colours.

At a reception in the Mountain Bar, number one supporter John

Speight presented a set of jerseys with the green and white hoops

made famous by Bunny and company. The southside club, formed in

1932, wore the hoops in their triumphs in the FAI Junior Cup of

1936 and in the FAI Youth Cup of 1949.

Horgan was a member of the cup winning side in 1949. During a

memorable season, they lost just one game, a replay of the

Munster Minor League final when North End emerged victorious 2 -

0; the first meeting had ended at 1 - 1.

It was a tremendous year for the Evergreen club, the first

triumph coming on April 18th 1949 when they defeated South Lake

United in the final of the Munster Minor Shield. The first North

End game was played in May with the replay in June. In October

they won the Munster Minor Cup, beating Clonmel 2 - 1 in the

final and, a few weeks later, defeated Donore 1 - 0 in the final

of the FAI Minor Cup.

In the same season, the Evergreen juniors reached the semi-final

of the FAI Junior Cup but lost 2 - 0 to Caledonians of Limerick.

The juniors were playing in the Munster Junior League at that


The club was reformed in 1963 when Joe Conway, a prominent member

of the 1949 minor team, Ray Leahy, Henry Fay, and Hughie

McSweeney, got together and put a team into the AUL. Conway had

also played senior football with Evergreen Utd in the fifties.

Along with Conway and Horgan, other members of the 1948-49 minor

team included: Arthur Morris, John Sutherland, Paddy O'Neill,

Joe Mullins, Sonny O'Shea, Jimmy O'Farrell, Michael Dorgan,

Patons Keating (captain), Tim Buckley, Jim Magee, and Len Davis.

No comments:

Post a Comment