A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, September 28, 2009



Quite a few changes at second division City Wanderers this season, changes in management, venue and playing personnel.

Players recruited include Ian McGinley, Ronnie Lettis, Ashley Todd, Mark Riordan and Colm Barker. Lettis was a former U-18 player at Cobh Ramblers until he suffered a long-term knee injury and now he's back playing after a 10 month lay off.

Mark Riordan joined the club from Dillon's Cross where he spent six years on their right wing. The tricky winger’s addition to the squad can only help strengthen the team. Ian McGinley, Ashley Todd and Colm Barker have been ever present in the first eleven this season.

On the management side of things, last season’s dual management of Andrew Delea and Sean Burke stepped down at the club's AGM last May and the latter is now assistant to new manager Barry McGovern. The Wanderers were lucky to secure the services of McGovern who has been strongly involved with Cork soccer throughout the years and his vast experience will no doubt help the team in their push for promotion this season.

The club is back training on CIT's astro turf pitch every Monday and Wednesday evening and the commitment from every player has been second to none.

City Wanderers currently play in AUL 2 and have been in existence for three years. They spent their first year settling down as a team and getting to know each other, and then in 2003 they finished runners up to eventual winners Ballincollig.

They were unfortunate to miss out on back-to-back promotions last season by drawing 2-2 with Innishannon, when a win would have seen them promoted ahead of Casement Celtic.

Wanderers now play their home games at Water Rock Park after spending the previous three years down in Killeady. Playing on a smooth surface every week has allowed the team to score from all areas of the pitch. Niall Riordan, Mick Kennedy, Brian Crean, Barker, Todd, Noel Kennedy, Phil Conlon and Derek Peyton have all featured in the scoring duties.

McGovern has appointed playmaker Conlon as club captain and he hasn't let his manager down by running the midfield, rarely losing a fifty fifty ball and has taken it upon himself to hit the team's spot kicks. He is turning into an inspired leader.

Having recorded convincing wins in their opening four games, the Wanderers are currently second in their division. The victories were against Togher Rover (4-1), Killeady Celtic (3-1), Afton Villa (3-1) and Grangevale ‘A’ (5-2).

They haven't been so hot in cup competition though. They did distinguish themselves by giving good games to Premier sides in the Munster and FAI but bowed out of the Saxone Cup, the second division knockout championship, when losing 3-2 to Passage.

Their best victory of the season came in an earlier round of the Saxone when they overcame Village Utd 7-2. Village stayed in touch as far as half time with the Wanderers leading 4-2. The second half produced some flowing football from the Wanderers who came out 7-2 winners in the end with goals from Barker, M. Kennedy (2), N. Kennedy, N. Riordan, Conlon and an unfortunate own goal.

The club had targeted the second division double of the league and Saxone Cup but now they’ll have to concentrate on the league and build on their good start. It they win promotion, it will be another step on the road to the sought after goal of Premier football.

The team continues to be sponsored by the Bishopstown Bar and have a committed committee consisting of Sean Burke (Chairman), Paddy Cummins (Secretary), Derek Peyton (Treasurer), Mervyn O'Mahony, Niall Riordan, Mick and Noel Kennedy.

At the annual awards last May, Player of the Year was influential midfielder Derek Peyton, who unfortunately missed the first part of this season, out with a broken collarbone. Clubman of the Year was Mervyn O'Mahony and last season’s Golden Boot winner was Mick Kennedy.

The City Wanderers squad is: Conor Donnellan, Paddy Cummins, Paul Fuller, Jason Fox, Brian Mullins, Ian McGinley, Noel Kennedy, Mark Riordan, Ronnie Lettis, Ashley Todd, Phil Conlon, Niall Riordan, Derek Peyton, Brian Crean, Patrick Fox, Colm Barker, Mick Kennedy, Dylan Cronin, Deccie Corcoran and Stephen Knottley.

No comments:

Post a Comment