A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, September 28, 2009



Next season will be Ballyvolane's 25th in football and they'll be back in the Premier League to mark it. They were clear winners in Murphy's Stout AUL 1B.

They enjoyed an unbeaten league run, winning 16 and drawing 4 of their 20

games. Their goals statistic is impressive: 54 for, 17 against.

Manager was Mick Lynam and he is delighted that they achieved their main aim this season. He pointed to the defence as their strongest part: "Derek Mellerick was transformed from an attacker into a sweeper and he, along with Anthony Murray, was brilliant. New signing Chris Healy had a great first season and Ger Irwin, signed at Christmas, gave us a great shove towards


Leading marksmen were Ken O'Neill (26) and Frank Mulvihill (23), and Ian

Grey, the deputy keeper, contributed an impressive 20. The team, winners of the ??? Murphy's Stout Team of the Month Award, was captained by the

enthusiastic Ger Cronin.

The only back spot in Ballyvolane's season was the broken leg unfortunately received by Martin Fitzpatrick in mid-season. He was a major loss but is now well on the road for recovery. Had Martin been in the side, Ballyvolane might have had made an even better impression in the cups. Not that they did too badly: Lynam's legion reached the semi-finals of the City and Michael's but lost each on penalties.

They also enjoyed their run in the Corinthians Cup where they sensationally beat the intermediates of Ballincollig. It was Ballincollig's first ever loss in the Corinthians (now in its fourth season).

The second string, Ballyvolane Utd, who play in 2B, was also victims of the shootout roulette. They did well to reach the Turner's Cross decider of the President's Cup but were pipped on penalties by Ard-na-Laoi.

The club had an enjoyable night out recently and the annual awards were

presented. Frank Mulvihill took the Player of the Year award for the first team, Jimmy Hennessy for the second, while outgoing chairman, Sean O'Sullivan was pleasantly surprised to receive the Clubman of the Year award.

Sean has stepped down from the chair and the new man at the helm is long

serving keeper Noel Ahern. Lynam continues as secretary, Gerard Sheehan as treasurer. Next season is a big one for this friendly club and they'll be hoping to mark the 25th with a trophy or two.

Lynam's panel for 1992/3 was: Denis Mulvihill (keeper), Billy O'Mahony, Ger Cronin (captain), Anthony Murray, Derek Mellerick, Christy Healy, Mick Healy, Ger Kiely, Mick Aherne, Frank Mulvihill, Ken O'Neill, Ian Grey, Ger Irwin, Declan Mellerick, and Martin Fitzpatrick.

No comments:

Post a Comment