A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Wednesday, September 30, 2009



Founder-member Donie Cronin was a teenager when he made his debut for

Grangevale in their first ever game against Blackrock in the Douglas Festival

Cup in 1944. Donie is as enthusiastic as ever and was in great form as

Grangevale received the Murphy's Stout Team of the Month Award at The Grange

last week.

Donie reckons that referees were better in the old days, claiming they did it

all "without red or yellow cards". "Nedser Cotter was a great character and

had the style and gestures to express it, " said Donie.

Davy Williamson, recent winner of a Distinguished Service Award, is another

long-term Grangevale stalwart and is current chairman. Donie is President.

Richie O'Sullivan is treasurer while Sean Molloy is vice-chairman. The other

members of the committee are Davy Hayes, Ciaran Martin, Charlie Hegarty, and

James Murray.

Hayes is perhaps better known as being the first player to score a hat trick

in an AOH Cup final. That came in 1979 when Grangevale outclassed Northvilla

at Turner's Cross.

The current team is on quite a good run at present and in their five games

prior to the award had scored 23 and conceded just two in an unbeaten run and

have made progress in the FAI and AOH. They won't want to draw Leeside in the

AOH as the Little Island club have recorded an unusual double over them this

season. Leeside B beat Grange in the St Michael's semi-final while Leeside A

pipped them in the Munster Junior Cup.

The organisational skills of player-manager Tommy Morrissey are paying

dividends this season. Grangevale captain is James O'Callaghan and the other

members of the panel are: Alan Hegarty, Barry Twomey, Peter Noonan, Roy

O'Mahony, John Foley, Robbie Birmingham, Richie O'Sullivan, Liam Murphy, Terry

O'Mahony, Jason Martin, Ray Horan, Ciaran Martin, Brian Farrell, Kevin

Birmingham, Cathal Daly, Colin Corkery, and Jason Corkery.

No comments:

Post a Comment