A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, September 28, 2009


"We'd prefer a level playing pitch to a tidy car park". That was the message

that came across loud and clear at the Douglas Hall annual general meeting.

According to the latest edition of The Hall Post, the club newsletter, the

message is being acted on. Plans to develop the car park and finish off the

entrance to the club's grounds at Moneygourney have been put on hold and the

main focus of attention is now to "get one of the pitches sorted out".

Not an easy job. It will involve installing additional drainage, levelling

the surface, and closing the pitch for the season. The other pitches would

then have to cater for extra games. Additional funding will be needed and

secretary Joe Doherty emphasises the importance of the club's own lottery.

Editor Joe Doherty also highlights a "crisis" at the Hall and one which is

becoming increasingly familiar at Cork soccer clubs and that is the lack of

personnel to look after the ever increasing numbers of schoolchildren wanting

to play in organised football: "Manpower is our biggest problem... existing

team managers are stretched to the limit .... parents' help needed".

Doherty played with last season's Douglas team in the MSL junior section and

won the Player of the Year award. Other winners included: Tom Murphy (Senior

team), Aidan O'Regan (AUL junior), Donie O'Regan (Over 35), Ray O'Connell

(Under 17), Kenneth Wade (Under 14), David Cahill (Under 13), Derick Bowen

(Under 12), Roger Barrett (Under 11), and Liam O'Sullivan (Clubman of the


Douglas Hall officers for 1994/95 are C. J. Harrington (Chairman), Andrew

Fealy (Vice Chairman), Joe Doherty (Secretary), Gerry O'Connell (Treasurer),

Anthony O'Sullivan (Assistant Treasurer). Other committee members are Brian

Kennedy, Bert O'Mahony, Liam O'Sullivan, and Brian Sheehy.

No comments:

Post a Comment