A Cork soccer resource. This is an archive of mini club histories that I have published over the years. To find your club, check the label list on the left side or else use the "search the blog" box above. If you spot any errors (esp. in dates) contact

Monday, September 28, 2009



A good start is half the battle. The truth in the old saying was again confirmed as Coachford "B" built on a brilliant opening sequence to go on and win the title in Murphy's Stout AUL 3 with a game to spare. It did look for a while against Ballinhassig that Coachford would need that last game, against rivals Lakewood. They were down 2-0 but fought back well to draw 2-2 and take the championship winning point.

Secretary Declan O'Connell also reported that the football knowledge of the team management of Micky Walsh, Thady Delaney, Richard Martin and Brian Murray was a major factor: "They got the mixture of youth and experience right."

Like most divisions in the AUL, this was a competitive league. And good start notwithstanding, there was the other half of the battle to negotiate. Walsh, the team's Mr Motivator, recalls the key victories.

"There was that 1-0 derby win over Ballincollig, secured thanks to a great individual goal by Ross Donovan and solid defending by Tim Hallissey and Mossie Mooney. Tower Street were also formidable opponents and we beat them 2-1 courtesy of two John Linehan goals and great displays by Denis O'Leary and Ken Donovan.

The next big one was away to Bellmount. Man of the match William Harrington scored the only goal with an excellent header in the first half and did the business at the opposite end by heading off his own line with only a minute to go.

Then came the home tie against Tower Street Athletic. Eric Mulligan scored from a "Zinedine" Twomey pass. Good displays by Declan Kiely and Jack Ahern also helped. Promotion was secured with a 1-0 away win against Ballyphehane. Aaron Newstead cracked the winner after a foul on Donal "Vinnie" Moynihan. Keeper Merrick made a couple of top class saves to keep yet another clean sheet.

The Coachford panel

Goalkeeper: David Merrick - Possibly player of the year for the team.

Defenders: Tim Hallissey, Mossie Mooney and Brian Murray along with Declan Kiely, Jack Ahern and Ken Donovan who were members of last year's victorious youth league winning team.

Midfield: The experienced John Linehan and Donal Moynihan, plus Eddie Twomey and the ever present Cornelius Fitzgerald and two more of last year's youths, William Harrington and Eric Mulligan.

Strikers: Denis O'Leary, Ross Donovan and leading scorer Aaron Newstead.

 Brian Buckley and the energetic Shane Martin who were also products of last years youth team.

No comments:

Post a Comment